I did the humane thing…

…and went shopping for makeup, shoes and clothes by myself after work last night. I was going to ask Master to take me shopping on Saturday, but there are times a girl needs to do things without fear of the wrath of a task-orientated man. If Master has something he wants to buy, he goes into the shop, buys it and leaves. Me? I like to wander around and look at this and that and oh, that’s right, I wonder if that’s on sale, and while I’m here I’ll have a look at that too. After approximately two hours of shopping I left with foundation, powder, blush and an eyeshadow palette- sans shoes and clothes. I’m glad I went by myself, he never would have survived.

I really wanted to buy some romanesque lace-up sandals for the gorean slavegirl outfit I’ll be wearing to the next party. Amongst the aisles and aisles of shoes, do you think I could find a pair? Of course not. That would be too easy.

I also spent a little bit of time looking at games we could play together on the PS 2. Usually I play WoW and he watches tv, but WoW is becoming a tad boring after 3 years and I’d like to play something together. So I thought, what better to do than kill and be chased by things? Some mindless entertainment for both of us is definitely warranted after a long week of work. I’m still undecided as to what game to buy though. I used to be a Crash Bandicoot kinda girl and he is a Doom kinda boy. Is there a middle ground for people like us?

It’s funny when I go out shopping alone. I feel so…I don’t know…out in the big bad worldish? Generally I go to work, go to gym and come straight home. I don’t make side trips, I don’t meet friends for coffee or a chat or anything like that. Of course I could, if I asked. But I don’t. I do what needs to be done and return to the security of home. It’s almost like I’m on one of those retractable pet leads that lets the animal wander ahead a little, but recoils to pull them in close again. Master isn’t home for three nights of the week, I could shop ’til my heart’s content if I wanted to. But I don’t.

Funnily enough I used to shop for 2 or 3 hrs everyday in Japan. Of course, that was because the shops didn’t close until 8 or 9pm and I worked for myself so I could pretty much choose my working hours. There was also the necessity of doing food shopping in short little bursts because you had to carry everything home…up hills…in snow, heat and rain. One thing about Japan, it toughens you up! It’s like boot camp for soft Westerners.

In other news, I’ve succumbed to the dreaded red plague and I’m also diseased with a lovely head cold, so I think this weekend will be spent eating comfort foods, taking drugs and sleeping. It’s sad, but I think my body is trying to tell me something….something like….GET A NEW JOB!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

