Change in all things is good

Mannerika is another one of those funky Japanese-English words from language limbo –  being neither really English or really Japanese. It comes from the English word ‘mannerism’ but is used to mean being stuck in a rut – often in terms of a sexual rut.

You may or may not know that Japanese imports a lot of words from other languages (mostly from English, but also Portuguese, German etc.) so along with learning the Japanese-Japanese words, you’re also learning funky words that are often known as Engrish. Words like anime from animation are pretty self-explanatory, but when handoru (handle) is used to refer to a steering wheer in a car or when sutobu(stove) is a kerosene heater, communication gets challenging. (Oh, and I’m not saying using words from other languages is unique to Japanese, I’m just using it as an example.)

It becomes more interesting when you think about the fact that Engrish is often used when the thing didn’t originally exist in Japan, resulting in there being no Japanese-Japanese word for it.  Does that mean that the Japanese never used to get stuck in a rut I wonder??? I highly doubt that, but by that logic it does mean that they never used to do 3P (pronounced ‘surii p’ meaning threesomes),  6-9 (pronounced ‘shikkusu nain’ meaning 69s) or onanii (from onanism meaning masturbation – thanks Daphne!)? Or maybe they just never talked about it…lol. (As well as onanii, there are a couple of Japanese-Japanese words for masturbation – which does suggest it has been done in ages past – thank god! )

So after that Japanese lesson, I’ll move onto today’s topic – being stuck in a rut.

Being human beings, we like change. We like new experiences, new things, we don’t like to eat the same food over and over again or do the same things day in, day out. Having such a large brain means that we need to be stimulated and challenged. As children we learn from experiences. We can be told not to do something ten million times, but it’s not until we’ve actually burnt a finger or fallen off something that we really learn not to do it.

Any sort of relationship we have must also change, because the people inside it are in a constant state of flux. We grow, we change, what we like and what we enjoy can differ from day to day. In fact, it’s un-natural for it not to. I’m not the same person who, four years ago, wanted to run off and be a slave. I think about D/s very, very differently now to how I did back then.

I used to think I would die, if I couldn’t be a slave. My life used to revolve around my slavery and everything to do with it. I now realise that it is but a part of my life and it’s not the be all and end all of my existence. I used to want to play from the moment I woke up until the moment I went to sleep. I wanted to experience everything and everything. In essence, I was the newborn babe doing her tactile learning and absorbing information from the ‘new’ world around me.

Since then I’ve been through the angsty teenage years of wanting to be in the ‘in-crowd’ doing ‘x,y and z’ and now I’m into mellow D/s middle-age where you do what you can when you can and you stop worrying so much about perceived labels. The die-hard habit of ‘should-ing’ all over yourself and your relationship as to what you ‘should’ be doing as a D/s couple, also takes a backseat to the reality of life, what you both actually want and what you can realistically do.

While the ‘kids’ run around poking themselves full of needles and go from dom to dom looking for their twue master who gives two hours of aftercare and makes his own toys, I’m grateful for ending up where I am.

Content. Loved. In Love.

6 thoughts on “Change in all things is good

Add yours

  1. Is onani really Japanese-Japanese? It looks very like “onananism” which I was taught meant masturbation but probably really refers to “coitus interruptus.” I hate phrases that start well and end badly.

    1. OMG! You are totally correct. Further investigation reveals onani comes from onanism which does indeed mean ‘self-gratification’ Thank you for the heads up!

      *goes back to edit entry…*

  2. I always prefer a “heads down” myself, but bthat is for Master to demand and me to give. Knowing that Onan spilled his seed is the benefit of a Catholic eductaion. The only benefit.

    1. Thankfully I didn’t have a catholic education, so I always wondered what the church’s feelings towards contraception and masturbation were based on. It’s always a good day when you learn something new!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

