The domestic goddess bitch returns

It was Master’s birthday on Wednesday and being the bad slave I am, I didn’t do anything to celebrate it other than surprise him early in the morning with a quick nakedness and boots session in his bed before I left for work.

I always have such an agonising time when it comes to presents for him. Every time I ask him what he wants he says, “Nothing” and because he’s a boy, I just don’t know what to get him off the top of my head. The only thing I thought would be a good present for him – a metal money clip with card holder – I wasn’t able to find and so his birthday came and went without a present from me.

Today I kind of made amends by making him a belated birthday cake:

Apple & Pear Cinnamon Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

It sure sounds nice, doesn’t it? As far as looks are concerned, note to self:  there is no point cooking a cake in a bundt pan if you’re going to cover it entirely with icing.

After sampling a piece, I officially gave it a 7. Master gave it a 6 and then a bonus 2 points for the maple cream cheese frosting because anything with those two ingredients in it has to be good right? Damn right.

Now I’m going to get all pioneer woman-ish on your ass:

1. Mix four cups of peeled and chopped apples and pears with 1 cup of sugar and set aside for a while (I used 1 cup of canned apple and 3 cups of fresh pear & apple).

2. Sift together 3 cups of plain flour, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger.

3. To the fruit mix add 1/2 cup of canola oil,

1 tsp vanilla essence,

1 cup of nuts (I used almonds, but walnuts would be fantastic),

4 egg whites (I separated the whites and beat them until soft peaks formed then added them, but I don’t think it would make all that much difference if you just dumped them in).

4. Add the flour mix to the fruit mix (add the egg whites last if you beat them).

5. Have I mentioned how much I love my nesting magnetic measuring spoons? I won these in a competition and they are the best things eva??

6. Grease a 20cm round pan and fill with batter.

7. Bake at 180c/ 325 F for 45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

8. Leave to cool for at least 10 minutes and then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

9. While the cake is cooling, make the frosting. You’ll need these babies:

250g cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup maple syrup (the real stuff if you’ve got it would be fantastic), 1/2 cup icing sugar, 1 tsp vanilla essence

10. Mix everything together until smooth and resist the temptation to eat the entire bowl of it then and there.

11. Slather on cake when cool and top with extra nuts or a drizzle of maple syrup.

12. Make yourself a big-ass cappuccino and enjoy the toils of your labour.

7 thoughts on “The domestic goddess bitch returns”

  1. Maple-flavoured syrup! Abomination!

    Then again, I don’t even want to contemplate how expensive getting the real stuff would be for you. It’s pricey enough here and I can drive to syrup farms in just a couple of hours.

  2. We normally buy the maple leaf Maple Syrup about $8 a bottle but we were having our last luncheon the other month and we bought the Maple flavoured syrup as it was going to be mixed in the dessert but we didn’t end up using it until today for the icing

  3. I think maple syrup is about $8 a litre can, and we live in Maple Country! Yummy on pancakes, and hubby uses it in bread-making too, or to glaze a ham.

    I agree, why use a bundt pan that’s so decorative then cover it up? I adore bundt pans. We have regular size, half size, quarter size and cupcake size. I make cream cheese chocolate cakes in the tiny size.

    Hugs,
    Hermione

      1. I said the can held a litre (above) but checked and it is 500 ml or 2 cups. By comparison, a pound of butter or 2 litres of milk costs $4. But this maple syrup is the real deal, very yummy!

        Hugs,
        Hermione

        1. *smacks head* sorry, I completely missed the ‘litre’.

          I think your price for butter is about the same as ours, but your milk is more expensive.

          Mmm..real deal maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

