The ‘Name that Movie!’ game

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, so instead of movie quotes, I’m going to try something different and do movie summaries.

The first person to correctly name as many movies as possible will be crowned Movie Queen of the Innernets!!!

Remember: no googling, no jokes that are funnier than mine and the correct title of the movie is required.

The game starts now:

1. Set in northern Australia before World War II, an English aristocrat who inherits a sprawling ranch reluctantly pacts with a stock-man in order to protect her new property from a takeover plot. As the pair drive 2,000 head of cattle over unforgiving landscape, they experience the bombing of Darwin, Australia, by Japanese forces firsthand.

2. In the distant future, a small waste collecting robot inadvertently embarks on a space journey that will ultimately decide the fate of mankind.

3. Four London working class stiffs pool their money to put one in a high stakes card game, but things go wrong and they end up owing half a million pounds and having one week to come up with the cash.

4. In a future world devastated by disease, a convict is sent back in time to gather information about the man-made virus that wiped out most of the human population on the planet.

5. A classic fairy tale, with swordplay, giants, an evil prince, a beautiful princess, and yes, some kissing (as read by a kindly grandfather).

6. A Las Vegas-set comedy centered around three groomsmen who lose their about-to-be-wed buddy during their drunken misadventures, then must retrace their steps in order to find him.

7. In 2027, in a chaotic world in which humans can no longer procreate, a former activist agrees to help transport a miraculously pregnant woman to a sanctuary at sea, where her child’s birth may help scientists save the future of humankind.

8. By tying thousands of balloon to his home, 78-year-old Carl Fredricksen sets out to fulfill his lifelong dream to see the wilds of South America. Right after lifting off, however, he learns he isn’t alone on his journey, since Russell, a wilderness explorer 70 years his junior, has inadvertently become a stowaway on the trip.

9. A young Greek woman falls in love with a non-Greek and struggles to get her family to accept him while she comes to terms with her heritage and cultural identity.

10. A bored married couple is surprised to learn that they are both assassins hired by competing agencies to kill each other.

11. In October of 1994, three student film makers disappeared in the woods near Burkittesville, Maryland. One year later, their footage was found.

12. A young journalist must investigate a mysterious videotape which seems to cause the death of anyone in a week of viewing it.

13. Two straight, single Brooklyn firefighters pretend to be a gay couple in order to receive domestic partner benefits.

14. A retired master car thief must come back to the industry and steal 50 cars with his crew in one night to save his brother’s life.

15. When wealthy industrialist Tony Stark is forced to build an armored suit after a life-threatening incident, he ultimately decides to use its technology to fight against evil.

*I’ll be modding comments for this just so that the answers aren’t revealed too soon. Even if your comment doesn’t show up, rest assured I’ve got your answers in my hot little hands.*

10 thoughts on “The ‘Name that Movie!’ game

Add yours

  1. 2. Wall-e
    3. Lock stock and two smoking barrels
    4. 12 monkees
    7. Children of men
    8. Up
    9. My big fat greek wedding
    10. Mr & Mrs. Smith
    11. Blair witch project
    12. The ring
    13. I now pronounce you chuck and larry
    14. gone in 60 seconds
    15. Iron Man

  2. Lets see:

    1.) Australia?

    2.) Wall-E

    3.) Lock stock and two smoking barrels?

    4.) 12 monkeys

    5.) Princess Bride (a favorite, I actually say “as you wish” all the time by reflex, so I tend to get a kick out of this movie)

    6.) Hangover? (haven’t seen it, is it good?)

    7.) Children of Men (liked the book better, think it was the ending)

    8.) Up (a dangerously sombre movie, I thought it would be more comedy, and ended up leaving feeling kinda sad)

    9.) My Big Fat Greek Wedding

    10.)Mr and Mrs. Smith (meh)

    11.) I’m guessing “Blair Witch Project” but don’t actually know for sure.

    12.) The Ring (or Ringu as you may have first seen it)

    13.) um… no idea, that movie with adam sandler and kevin james right? don’t know the title

    14.) gone in 60 seconds (wonderful film)

    15.) Iron Man

    Either we have similar tastes in movies or I have seen WAY too many movies.

  3. In keeping with the spirit of the game, I won’t look anything up. 🙂

    1 – The English Patient? (I don’t actually know this one. I’m guessing. They both have the word English in there.)
    2 – WALL-E
    3 – Lock Stock (Okay, fine, it’s technically called Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels. But I always called it Lock Stock for short.)
    4 – At first I wanted to say The Terminator or Robocop or something. I struggled with this one. But it’s DEFINITELY 12 Monkeys. That one had disease, for sure. And I liked it.
    5 – Derrrrr…. Uh…. I dunno. I was a nanny too, I should know this one. Wait, was it that new one? Uh…. Piss. I dunno.
    6 – The Hangover
    7 – Children of Men (I LOVED this)
    8 – UP
    9 – My Big Fat Greek Wedding
    10 – Mr. & Mrs. Smith (with an ampersand, NOT the word “and.” Anyone who says “and” should be disqualified.) But the “spy couple” premise is also Duplicity, Knight and Day, Date Night, Killers, etc… I’m DEEPLY annoyed with this movie premise. It needs to be given a rest.
    11 – The Blair Witch Project
    12 – Ringu (though the re-make, The Ring, is more well known here in the US…)
    13 – I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry
    15 – Iron Man (for the fucking win! I loved this. RDJ is my secret boyfriend. So secret, even he doesn’t know.)

  4. 1 Austraila
    2 Wall E
    3 Lock Stock and 2 Smoking Barrels
    4 12 Monkeys
    5 Princess Bride
    6 The Hangover
    7 Children of men
    8 UP
    9 My Big Fat Greek Wedding
    10 Mr and Mrs Smith
    11 Blair Witch Project
    12 The Ring
    13 Larry and Chuck
    14 Gone in 60 Seconds
    15 IronMan

  5. 2. Wall-e

    4. 12 Monkies

    5. The Princess Bride

    7. Children of Men

    8. Up

    9. My Big Fat Greek Wedding

    10. Mr. and Mrs. Smith

    11. The Ring

    14. Gone in 60 Seconds

    15. Iron Man

  6. 1) No idea 2) Wall-E 3) Full Monte 4) 12 Monkeys 5) Princess Bride 6) The Hangover (wonderful movie!) 7) Children of Men 8) UP 9) My Greek Wedding?? 10) That thing with Brad and Angie 11) Blair Witch Project 12) The Ring 13) ??? 14) Gone in 60 Seconds 15) Iron Man. Or not. 🙂

  7. #15 Has to be Iron Man, but I only know this because I am moderately familiar with classic superhero comics. The rest, I have no idea. I haven’t really had time for TV or movies in over a decade.

    Now if someone posted a list of descriptions of movies made in the 1980s or early 90s, I could probably name most of them.

  8. 1-Australia
    2-WALL E
    3-
    4-Twelve Monkeys
    5-
    6-
    7-Children of Men
    8-
    9-My Big Fat Greek Wedding
    10-Mr. And Mrs. Smith
    11-The Blair Witch Project
    12-
    13-I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry
    14-Gone in Sixty Seconds
    15-Iron Man

  9. 2. Wall-E

    6. The Hangover

    8. Up!

    9. My Big Fat Greek Wedding

    10. Mr. and Mrs. Smith

    11. The Blair Witch Project

    12. The Ring

    13. I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry

    14. Gone in 60 Seconds

    15. Iron-Man

    Nice movie taste!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

