What have you failed at lately?

I knew there was a reason I didn’t go onto Facebook much:

 “Failbooking” – from those lovely people who also provide your lolcat and Engrish fixes.

Do these people not care what they announce to the world?

Oh wait…I’m the self-confessed queen of tmi…

But I don’t do it on Facebook ! So there.

I was thinking about it on the weekend, actually – thinking about how I know more about my friends on facebook than my friends whom I see on a regular basis – even though 99% of my facebook friends are people whom I haven’t seen in over 15 years.

On Sunday, after our luncheon I was trying to organise a lift home for a Japanese friend who doesn’t drive as it had gotten late and I didn’t feel comfortable about sending her off on public transport. We ended up asking a gentleman who has frequented our house on many occasions and whom I’ve had interactions with for the last 4 years. He lived near her house and said it was no problem.

Then I realised, I didn’t know his address, anything about him or even his last name.

I wasn’t sure if I felt more comfortable about her being in a car alone with him or on a train after dark.

It was a really strange situation. She of course didn’t know how I knew him and I was trying to reassure myself more than anything when I told her he was a ‘good friend’ and I ‘trusted him’. But on the inside, I wondered just how well I did know him.

M and I had a bit of a talk about the situation too on Sunday night. Neither of us has a big circle of friends and other than the people we work with, the only people we know are people we’ve met through kink. But the nature of the kinky beast is that you never really ‘know’ the other people in the sense that everyone is uberly worried about their privacy and public persona and there’s a bit of an unspoken ‘don’t ask, don’t tell’ policy as far as interactions are concerned.

We’ve both felt that the situation with the ‘hollow’ friendships is regrettable and seems to detract from our enjoyment of spending time with some people.

Although we formed a couple of firm friendships that started through kink and have evolved, the majority of kink interactions are entirely superficial and seem to suck more out of you than you actually get out of them.

It’s interesting, isn’t it, how the anonymity of the internet allows you to put everything and more out there, while actually revealing nothing about yourself.

3 thoughts on “What have you failed at lately?

Add yours

  1. if im guessing right as to whom you are speaking off, i would trust him with my bank account (not that i have much in there but ya know)

    1. Yeah, I trust him too, but it sounded really hollow when I was saying to her, ‘I don’t know his address, but I certainly trust him to take you home!’ I mean that’s just bizarre…

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

