Indulging in norti things

So the man has flown 3000km just to get away from me…or perhaps it’s to visit his parents in Melbourne…but whatever the reason, I’ll be at home alone for the next 7 days. Totally alone – which is a first for me. Before I always had the poodle pup to keep me company, so the house is very quiet and very empty.

It’s only taken me five hours to do something that I would never, ever be allowed to do when he his home. In fact, if I even brought up this particular topic, I’d be licked into oblivion or something equally as horrible.

Yes, people. I watched Michael Jackson’s This is It.

MJ is not one of my favourite artists and I don’t even own any of his albums, but I had a morbid sense of curiousity that was calling me to watch it. I had to wait until the man was safely 3000km away before I could indulge in it though.

So I’ve watched it and I have to say MJ moved damn well for a fifty-one-year-old man – even if his nose is held on with blu tac. Funnily enough, M and Micheal Jackson were born in the same year. How freaky and completely pointless is that bit of trivia??

Earlier today, M took me into town for a shopping trip. I decided that if I was going to get serious about this running thing, I needed some serious gear, namely, some new shoes and some skins (compression wear). I’m also lusting after a running computer, but I don’t know if I can justify spending several hundred dollars on something this early on in the piece, so yeah…

Anyway, I was so indecisive about which pair of shoes I wanted to buy. I spent a good 90 mins switching between several pairs of shoes and driving a shop assistant barmy. What came out of the whole exercise though was that I’ve been running in completely the opposite type of shoes that I should be running in and that probably explains why my knees have been killing me.

Yay.

I also discovered that skins are not designed for people with ‘womanly’ figures in mind because I took a top into the change room and attempted to put it on.

“How’s it feel?” came the questioning voice of the sales assistant on the other side of the changing room door.

“Ummm….I feel kind of Victorian,” I answered.

I opened the door and she took one look at me and burst out laughing.

I’m only slightly exaggerating when I say I looked like this:

(except of course that I hadn’t morphed into a man with bad make-up – just the ridiculous waist bit)

“Yeah, they don’t really make running clothes for people with hips,” she explained.

“I’ll just take the tights then…” I replied, thoroughly mortified.

So $230 later I have a pair of shoes and two pairs of funky 3/4 tights that are supposed to give me better results and help with recovery. She shall see people, we shall see. To test them out, I’ve decided to enter the 10km Rottnest Island run next month. It’s going to require me to take a ferry very early in the morning to get there, but it will be a very scenic lap around the island I’m sure.

Seeing that I was out shopping for shoes, I couldn’t really justify coming home without a new pair of boots to add to the collection. Being that winter is over and the summer stock is starting to come in, it’s a great time to buy cheap boots for the boot fetishist in your life.

Today I bought these ones:

I think that brings the boot tally to…umm…let’s see…27 -3 + 4 + 1 = 29 ??? ( I threw away three pairs that I’d worn beyond repairing) and means I’ve added five pairs to the collection this year. One more pair and I’ll hit the big 30.

4 thoughts on “Indulging in norti things

Add yours

    1. I’m lusting after a Garmin with GPS function at the moment πŸ™‚ I guess I don’t really need all the bells and whistles just really the HRM and timer functions and some programmes, but I’m a sucker for techno gadgets…hehehe

  1. *unlurks*

    Hi, I don’t know if you have the shops there, but I love this shop/site for my gym clothes: http://www.sweatybetty.com/ They fit really well (I also have hips!) and wash well too, they do seem to deliver everywhere so I thought I’d share πŸ™‚

    I’m loving the Japan trip blogs!

    *relurks*

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

