Just a quickie

I’ve got two words for you : my boss.

I don’t even know where to start with him…

First, he was annoying the crap out of me, but fortunately I’ve managed to get used to his annoyingness and it doesn’t bother me so much anymore.

Secondly, we went out to dinner with him and his newly arrived wife and M and I decided that he is definitely punching over his weight (she’s disturbingly normal…how does she stand him?)

Thirdly, they’ve been married for four months (three and a half of which they have been living in separate countries for), have only lived together physically in the same house for two weeks and have only recently consummated their marriage (or so we assume…at least we hope he has done so by now…because last time we were talking about it, he hadn’t…) Then he tells me today that he wants to up their health insurance because they WANT TO HAVE A BABY!!!

Well, rather than they ‘want’ to have a baby, it was more along the lines of, “Well, now we’re married so of course the next step is baby…”

I feel like I’m living in the dark ages or something. I feel like screaming at her, “Take the car out for a test drive before you buy it, baby. And at least fricken know the person whose DNA you are going to create a sprog from.”

Actually, more than anything, I feel really angry about the whole situation. She knows no-one here, can speak no English and suddenly she’s going to have to deal with doctors, obstetricians and all that messy parenting stuff before she even gets her two feet on the ground.

I think it’s irresponsible of him more than anything. She’s the sort of person who is just going to follow his lead and then later on down the track, crumble and say,  “Holy fuck, I can’t deal with this!” And the reason I know this is because that’s what happened with me. I hopped on the whole relationship conveyor belt and barely got off before I ended up somewhere that I would have truly regretted.

These kids of today…and when I say ‘kids’, I mean my boss. I’m feeling the twelve month age gap between me and my younger boss to be as wide as a chasm.

4 thoughts on “Just a quickie

Add yours

  1. I did the same, hopped on that conveyer belt and actually rode a long way on it before I realised that if I didnt get off I would still just be chugging round waiting for something to happen. It was a leap of faith into the unknown and I am so glad that I did it.

    Mollyxxx

  2. because it happened to you does not mean it will happen to her, she just might like the idea of becoming a mother, ya never know.

  3. I agree it is completely irresponsible of them. Do they even know they will be together for a long period of time?? You should always test drive the car before purchase! You might not like the way it runs.

    And just because your married doesn’t mean you HAVE to pop out a kid! I’m an old fashion kind of girl but damn!!

    1. does anyone really know they are going to be with their partners for any period of time? should time be a factor to starting a family? how much time is *responsible*?

      i find your irresponsible comment quite bizzare, why are they irresponsible? just because you think so? i would say that there ARE many people world wide who have started families early on in their marriage and have lived happy for many a year, why cant these people also experience this through their OWN choice? what if they dont last? the wife might be happy to bring the child into the world with the possibility of the marriage not lasting, leaving her to bring the child up? she may have even given all of this some thought. just because it happened to kitten does not mean its going to happen to her.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

