Service? All it’s cracked up to be?

“I’m here to serve and please!”

How many times have you heard that slave mantra? I know I’ve said it until my tongue nearly dropped off (and no, that’s not because I was lying through my teeth at the time, but because he makes me say it over and over again.) I’ve also heard other slaves saying it more times than I care to count. But I don’t really get it. I don’t get the whole ‘domestic service’ thing.

In essence, isn’t it just a person being a partner and doing what needs to be done?

I don’t really think that housework needs to be white-washed into ‘slave service’, do you?

I’m guessing at this stage that some people will say, ‘But it’s not all housework! I do other stuff too!’

Well, I do too.

I clean his ears. I cut his hair. I’ve pumiced dead skin off his feet. I’ve dealt with his bodily waste products. Given him back rubs, bum rubs and kissed his ass.

I don’t think any of that qualifies as ‘service’ though. He’s my partner, and I’d do that sort of stuff for him whether he owned me or not.

Is that weird? Do other people not do that sort of stuff for their SOs?

The only situation in which I would call it ‘domestic service’ instead of ‘looking after your partner’ was if you didn’t live with someone and weren’t involved in a co-habitation-type of relationship and you just went to their house to do ‘stuff’ for them without monetary gain. I’d totally label that sort of situation ‘domestic service’. If they were a boy and did that sort of stuff while wearing a maid outfit, I’d go as far as to call that a bona-fide kink.

I just don’t understand how you can call keeping house and cooking & cleaning ‘domestic service’. I’m not discounting the value of housework, I just don’t see how something that would get done anyway, can be glossed up to be ‘service’.

I see ‘service’ as something that you go out of your way to do and that benefits no-one but your owner. I see piss-drinking, mystery shoppers, three-inch butt plugs and all those other irksome things as ‘service’. I see things that your average ‘nilla’ person wouldn’t do as owner service – not growing veggies, baking bread and cleaning tile grout with a toothbrush.

To me, that’s just life.

6 thoughts on “Service? All it’s cracked up to be?

Add yours

  1. I’d consider cleaning tile grout with a toothbrush cruel and unusual punishment, meself! Still, I think I have to agree with you, that unless housekeeping is something one goes out of the way to perform, it isn’t really service. I guess I’m just a sex slave, then. Sigh. Poor me.

    1. But, you have to admit that there are times when something other than a toothbrush won’t cut it, right?
      I’m a sex slave too…don’t feel too bad! 🙂

  2. Oooh, I love a good grout cleaning. So cathartic. Our new house has no proper tile, though. Sad.

    I dunno. I don’t really think of a lot of what I do as “domestic service”. I mean, I’d be doing it anyway. It’s my job as The Person That Doesn’t Work For Money. And the Captain isn’t the sort to insist that I do every last chore around here, either, so it’s not like I’m slaving away (see what I did there?) by myself.

    1. So you’re lacking proper tile grout? If I send you airfare, will you come and clean mine. We have a whole kitchen/dining of slate and then creamy tiles everywhere but the bedrooms and living room. Mmmm..cathartic…

      I feel pretty much the same as The Person Who Only Works Part Time. I feel it’s fair that I do most of the housework (since I don’t contribute much to the house financially).

  3. Well I guess the difference is that as a slave, you have to do it and can’t negotitate?

    If he was my vanilla boyfriend, he’d say “Could you please cook dinner for us”, but as my owner he will tell me: “Tonight, you will cook dinner.” He couldn’t demand anything if I only were his living-with-him-girlfriend and even if I was cooking most of the time, I could say “Well, no, honeybunny, I’m not in the mood, let’s order some pizza.” Of course I can suggest alternatives, but he doesn’t have to accept them.

    As a slave, I don’t have a choice and I can’t tell him that I think I’ve done enough and that it’s his turn because it just doesn’t matter if it’s fair or not.

    Of course, in many cases, especially when the slave is a stay-at-home-wife, she’d do all the stuff anyway, but if both partners work and one does all the housework and the other doesn’t, to me, there clearly is a power structure and then it’s okay to call it domestic servitude.

    But yeah, for many people, I guess it’s just the word they find fancy 😉

    1. “Well I guess the difference is that as a slave, you have to do it and can’t negotiate?”

      Pffffttt! One can always negotiate. Whether you get your way or not is another matter 😉

      As you said, I think people just like the pretty name.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

