On bondage and security

I’ve been doing this thing in bed for a while and I never knew why until I was watching a tv programme the other day and it all made sense.

For several months now I’ve had this thing of wedging myself between pillows in bed – one behind my back, one in front of my front.

Except I’d kind of laying on them at the same time so I’ve got a sleeping-in-pillow-valley effect happening.

And it feels great.

And just so that you get what I mean, I drew you a picture using my fabulous artistic skills:

The programme I was watching was about great inventions of the twenty-first century and body pillows were one of the products mentioned. Apparently humans get a great sense of peace and security by being wedged between things when they sleep.

I’m not a big fan of being wedged between something that farts and snores, but I’m a big fan of the spoon. It’s a nice feeling to know that your significant other has got your back.

Actually, I do have a few more things wedged around me when I sleep:

In winter I actually have two doonas as well as my three pillows that I wedge around me. But now when it’s HOT, I’ve just got a doona cover that I wrap my legs around that functions as a sheet.

Usually I’ve got lots of crap on my bed too:

I promise I’ll stop drawing pictures now…

So then I got to thinking about bondage. I know a lot of people describe it as constricting, claustrophobic and painful and while it can be all of those things, it can also be comforting, calming and impart a great sense of security to the bondagee.

I often think about why I like the things I do. I’m always trying to figure out what makes me want something and  abhor something else at the same time. Aside from the bondage stuff, I also love hugs and spooning (except during ridiculously hot days of summer when having someone else even in the same room makes me hot) and holding hands. All these activities ‘encircle’ me and make me feel secure and safe so it’s not such a stretch to see why being tied up makes me feel all warm inside as well.

I haven’t felt the need for bondage for quite some time and I’m wondering if it’s because I’m fulfilling that need on some level every night while I sleep.

I have to say, a bed, three pillows and a doona is much more comfortable than a pair of cuffs and a dog cage….

5 thoughts on “On bondage and security

Add yours

  1. I like the new layout! It’s very well designed.

    I find that I’m far more comfortable if my bed is plush and snuggly and I’m covered in many, many heavy coverings.

  2. wow your bed is so like mine, except i usually have a laptop on is as well, and tweesers for random plucking i do and chocolate, and cheesy wotsits. so glad im not the only person in the world who shares my bed with junk

  3. 4 regular pillows, a body pillow, and a man that farts and snores, and a cat, but no iPod…and the water bottle stays on the floor next to the bed. All covered by two blankets and a doona.

  4. ooo i love to sleep like this, and your diagram pictures just how the bed is till MK comes to bed then sadly my pillow cave vanishes….thankyou for sharing it

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

