Freebies & melons

Well, it looks like I’m off to Japan and probably Korea at the end of May for work. I’m excited, but also not excited because it’s going to be a week-long apology fest in which much bowing and scraping will need to be done to pissed-off customers. The other reason I’m not excited is because I’ll be towing around a slightly grumpy and quirky seventy-year-old man, another man who does not eat fish in any way, shape or form (god help me….) and my immediate boss who is quite anal and quirky herself.

(I’m not sure what it is with quirky people and their propensity to flock to me like a moth to a flame. Maybe I’m sending out too many quirky vibes myself and you know what they say about birds of a feather – they flock together and then plummet to their deaths.)

But it will be Japan, regardless of who I’m with and what I’m doing, so it will allow me to recharge my Japan batteries, which have been running low since my last visit a year ago. I’m also planning on bringing back insane amounts of food, books and dvds to tide me over to my next visit so that kind of out-weighs any negatives about the trip.

More importantly, it’s a free trip!! So who gives a shit, hey?

It’s looking like we’ll be heading up north so I may get to see some of the tsunami effects first-hand. This may be good and may be bad as I normally become a snotty mess just by looking at pictures and video on the innernets, but I’m sure it will be ‘good’ on some level, somehow.

And what else has been happening….not a huge amount actually. That’s why I haven’t been posting much – that and the fact that I don’t have time to be in my head all the time and angst like I used to. I used to grab ideas and churn them into blog post that would provide me with mulling fodder for quite some time, but these days I just don’t have the time or energy to do it. Pretty much I get up in the dark, work all day, come home in the dark, eat, go to bed and rinse and repeat for five days. Weekends I grocery-shop, wash and play wow. So that’s my life in a nutshell.

Three days a week I also go for run in the dark before I eat. That’s my ‘training’ for the half-marathon I’m supposed to be doing in August. Running in the dark is not too bad actually except for those heart-pounding moments when you see someone else and you wonder if you’re going to get mugged for your iPod. The other bad thing about running in the dark is the increased chance of stepping in something that you can’t avoid because you can’t see it. At the moment I’m dodging rotten melons.

Rotten melons?

Yes. Rotten melons.

I have no idea why, but it seems to be the thing for people to dump vines with melons attached along random roads in outer Perth suburbs. These melons then fester and the smell is…..well, have you ever smelt a festering watermelon in your garbage bin? No? Then you’re definitely missing out on a life-changing experience. And trust me, you do not want to step in said festering melon.

It’s Mother’s day today and I’m working up the motivation to call my mother. Not that I don’t want to talk to her or anything, I just hate using the telephone. I wish it was socially acceptable to e-mail your mother on Mother’s Day, but I don’t think the human race has evolved quite that far yet. I don’t think I’ve actually spoken to my mother since I was home at Christmas time. Funnily enough, she hates using the telephone too so she doesn’t call me. I wonder if there’s a telephone-hating gene that I’ve somehow inherited from her?

My cuddlee arrived and it wasn’t quite what I was expecting. I was expecting something akin to a monk’s robe that I could shuffle around the house in, but it’s actually just a blanket with sleeves. Now a blanket with sleeves works fine when you’re laying on the lounge watching the Big Bang Theory but for anything else, it doesn’t work.

When my cuddlee arrived I actually held it up and said, “WTF?” M said the funniest thing too along the lines of, “Do you think they forgot to sew it up?” We were both expecting the poncho-cum-Enigma outfit and felt totally ripped off with just a blanket with sleeves. So the hunt for suitable winter attire continues.

Speaking of Big Bang, I ❤ that show. There is something so disturbingly familiar about Sheldon and his lack of human empathy. Not mentioning any names of course, I’ll leave you to figure out who he reminds me of.

2 thoughts on “Freebies & melons

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

