The purge

I’d like to say that contrary to the title I haven’t been purging, but actually I have. In a big, big way.

I contracted a lovely bug/virus/thing that made me check whether my life insurance was up-to-date on Tuesday night and I spent many, many hours vomiting up everything that was in my stomach and what felt like my bowel and my uterus for the next two days.

TMI?

Probably….sorry.

I haven’t actually been that sick for quite some time. At first we thought it was my appendix because I still have one and because I was in pain with a capital P. Also because I don’t eat grass regularly so it’s probably teetering on the edge of exploding.

Speaking of the appendix, you really should watch Eddie Izzard’s skit about intelligent design (the appendix bit starts at 10:45 so I’ve auto-cued it to start there, you just need to click on the play button at the bottom left-hand side)

In fact, if you haven’t watched any of Eddie Izzard’s stuff, you should immediately troll the innernets for any little bits of his shows you can get your hands on and then you should promptly go out and buy all his videos. He’s a funny, funny man.

So anyway I took two days off work and spent the entire time hugging the porcelain bowl.

M was good during the purging drama. Although he didn’t play the good girlfriend role and hold my hair back as I vomited, he gave me plenty of quiet alone time and took me to the doctor when we attempted to go the second time. The first time was funny because he’d made an appointment for me to go and see the doctor at 11am and so I somehow managed to roll out of bed and put some clothes on. He then spent ten minutes trying to open the car without the alarm going off and by the time he got the car open and went to start it, we discovered that the car battery was flat.

Doctor’s appointment part two was at 3:50pm and I waited about thirty minutes in the waiting room before getting to see him, all the while thinking positive non-vomiting thoughts and making sure I had a clear line to run to the toilet if I needed.
The doctor offered me the choice of pills to stop the nausea or a needle. I’m sure I don’t need to tell you which option I took. Thanks to the pills that also knocked me out, I finally managed to stop vomiting and get some sleep and so I shuffled back to work on Friday.

In purge-related news, I went on a bit of a blog clean out a couple of weeks back and so I removed all my questionable flickr pics and whatever posts I could find on my blog that were also of a questionable nature i.e. showed anything other than flowers and rainbows. I’ve decided I don’t feel comfortable with pics of me doing stuff I don’t do anymore on my blog, so they are gone.

4 thoughts on “The purge

Add yours

  1. glad u are feeling better…have u heard/seen Eddie Izzard and the death star with lego men on you tube…get me every time……very funny…perfect cure for virus of any kind.HSxx

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

