Blogging is cheap therapy

I have to say that I do enjoy writing here on my blog again. There’s something very cathartic about it – as long as I stop thinking about what I’m writing…lol.

There was a time not so long ago when I felt a very real pressure to write a particular ‘type’ of blog and that pressure came hand in hand with gaining more views on my blog – the more views I got, the more of those types of blogs I had to write. I felt that I had a certain reputation to hold up (as silly as that may sound and completely caused by spending too much time in my head) and because I’d started this as a ‘slave blog’ unless I was writing about slavey stuff , I’d be disappointing people.

All in all, my blog started to become a huge unruly beast that I was starting to feel ‘unworthy’ of.

So when I became busy, it seemed like the perfect excuse to quietly walk away from it all. Except every so often I’d have something that I just needed to tell somebody. My go to ‘person’ had always been my blog, so I had to restrain myself from getting itchy typing hands and just file away the words somewhere inside.

But then a couple of weeks back I reached some sort of an epiphany and had the startling thought that I didn’t need to prove anything to anyone and it was okay just to write about whatever the hell I wanted to write about – be it random Star Wars fanboy chopstick shit or the fact that I still regularly have a good cry over the loss of our poodle pup.

I figure it’s better getting all that shit off my chest here than paying someone $100/hr to do exactly the same thing. Blogging really is cheap counselling. You’ve just got to watch those vitriolic comments every now and then that make you want to hurt someone or open up a vein or two.

So in summary, I’ll just be writing about whatever the hell takes my fancy. Yay for me.

7 thoughts on “Blogging is cheap therapy”

  1. Yeah, I don’t remember when I first found your blog, but it was sometime after this was a slave blog and it was more just a good bit of read with the occasional M/s story thrown in. I enjoy the different blogs and the stream of consciousness type anything writing that you throw up here sometimes… Let it be whatever it is that you feel like sharing, as it is your blog and not about those of us that read it. Those who enjoy will stay, and nobody should care about the others…

  2. I enjoy your blog because it isn’t all Master/slavey stuff. 🙂 I especially enjoy your blogs on JapanI think you should write whatever you feel and if someone doesn’t like it well, they don’t have to read it.

    1. My eyes glaze over when I go back and read some of the stuff from 2005…It’s tempting to delete it, but I suppose I should keep those entries as a reminder of what *not* to do.

  3. I originally started reading your blog when it was mainly a slave blog, but I’ve always enjoyed the mix of things and I really like your writing style. I’ve missed your blog recently and I’m so happy to see you back and posting again!

Leave a Reply

