Chilling the fuck out

I’ve been thinking very seriously for several weeks now about de-cluttering my life. I even went so far as to pull all the books out of my bookcase and split them into sell and keep piles. But that’s as far as I went and the piles are still sitting on the floor of my bedroom. Now I’m actually thinking about just putting them back into the bookcase and being done with it.

Danshari fail.

The exercise made me realise just how much of a problem I have with cutting ties to things that I perceive as having some value or importance to me.  While I have no issues disposing of other’s people’s crap or things that have served their purpose and are broken or empty, things that are still ‘good’ or ‘useable’ end up being put away ‘just in case’.

I also seem to have a particular problem with books. I tend to read books I like over and over again and they represent hours of entertainment and escapism for me. While I’d love to have all my favourites on a kindle and be able to take them anywhere, there’s just something special about the pages, the smell and the feel that books have.

On a positive note, I haven’t bought new things this year except for two new shirts for work and my running gear. Both sets of items were things that I needed and have been put into regular use. So instead of having a buy nothing new month in October, I’ve had 6 or 7 months where nothing new has been bought. Part of me feels very frugal and proud of this achievement, but another part of me feels a bit sad about not having the frivolous joy associated with the acquisition of new items just for fun.

Sometimes I get overly frugal and a spanish inquisition-like Q & A session accompanies every purchase. M thinks I’m a bit bizarre when I’m dragging him over the coals due to the existence of an ‘unauthorised’ item in the shopping trolley – even though it might only be something that cost 99c.

Waste also irks the crap out of me. My two pet hates are throwing away food that has gone bad and being overcharged for things at the supermarket. Nothing annoys me more than buying a brand I don’t particularly like because it is on special and then being charged full price for it. AHHHHHH!!

I think I’m definitely getting more anal and fixed in my ways as I get older. When I was younger, things used to bother me, but I’d be able to move on and forget about them. These days, I’ll be waking up at 4am irate over the bowl of soup that got thrown away 4 days ago because it had been in the fridge for a week.

It doesn’t sound very healthy does it? Any ideas about how I can chill the fuck out?

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

