Catch Up

It was a weird week. It started hardcore with 3 back-to-back nights at the gym (Body Combat 56 might be the death of me…) and ended with the season finale of Game of Thrones. Now I’ve got nothing to watch until Breaking Bad starts again in August! Nothing worse than long, cold nights in the Australian winter with absolutely NOTHING to watch. Damn TV producers and their northern hemisphere seasonal bent.

I think I’m still having a GoT hangover from the previous week.  I could so relate to all those reaction to the red wedding videos that were posted everywhere. I remember coming out to M after watching the episode and going, “Oh.My.God.” I didn’t know how to process what I’d just seen. What was even funnier was building it up for him so much and then he was watching it and fifty or so minutes in he chirps up, “I thought this was supposed to be….oh…hang…on.”

Priceless moment.

No, I haven’t read the books and I’m a little on the fence about it too. While I’d love to read them and figure out what the hell is going and who the hell everyone is, I don’t want to spoil my TV viewing experience. I used to be an avid fantasy reader and the Dragonlance Chronicles, Riftwar Series,  Belgariad & Mallorean are some of my favourites that will forever live on my bookshelf. I tend to just read the same books over and over again though because I find it hard to invest myself in a new set of characters and a story. Maybe I’m getting old…eeep!

In totally unrelated dieting news, I’m thinking about jumping on the intermittent fasting diet bandwagon. I always love me a good fad diet and this is one I haven’t tried, so I figure, why the hell not? I’m in two minds whether to do the popular 5:2 or the less popular every-other-day version. Maybe I’ll start with the less onerous 5:2 (five days normal eating, two days fasting) and work from there. Anyone have any thoughts or experiences they want to share?

I love fad diets because they give me rules. Generally speaking, I love me some rules because they help me work out how I’m supposed to act. It’s probably a lack-of-confidence thing in that I’m not comfortable ‘doing my own thing’. What I don’t quite understand though, is that while I love rules, I have to feel comfortable with/understand those rules before I’ll feel happy about following them. How does that work?

Oh and on the Body Combat thing, “Matrix” kicks make me feel like a total retard. Just sayin’, Les Mills.

Work has been…bearable. It’s the time of year for bonuses and pay rises, so I’m crossing everything that can be crossed in the hopes that some money will be heading my way. I saw an ad for a Japanese-speaking EA last week and was seriously thinking about applying for it. I already get made into the GM and MD’s bitch on a regular basis, so I figure actually having EA in my title might be a little more meaningful. Although I don’t know whether it’s better to be a Sales & Marketing ‘something’ as opposed to an EA for future career prospects. No impending trips to Japan are on the horizon and I’m just hunkering down to get through the winter at this stage.

Finally, I had a weird moment of actually feeling ‘okay’ about having my nipples pierced. It’s probably because I haven’t had a goal or a ‘big event’ this year so I’m hankering for a ‘challenge’. Nipple piercing has been threatened for a very long time and I’ve totally resisted the idea up until this point. I mean, not that my thoughts about it would actually affect whether or not M did it, but for me it’s ‘easier’ if I’ve internally come to a happy place about my impending doom. I casually mentioned my acceptance of the piercing and was met with a, ‘Pfffftt!’ which I guess is fair enough because my acceptance means fuck all, but still I was a bit miffed – which doesn’t seem appropriately slavey enough at all, does it?

My feelings of acceptance were fleeting and somewhere between Wednesday and Friday, they disappeared completely. I told M that I was ‘over’ nipple piercing now and he laughed and said that once again he’d been right. I hate it when he’s right.

P.S We watched the director’s cut of Pulp Fiction again for the millionth time. That is still a damn fine movie.

red wedding

2 thoughts on “Catch Up

Add yours

  1. The fasting fad annoys me, especially the 5:2 version because everyone i know who has tried it overeats before and after fast days, which kinda negates the point. Also it’s not really fasting, it’s more like very strict calorie restriction, so why not just restrict calories to a lesser extent all the time and save yourself the trouble? If a person (not you – you guys seem to eat pretty healthily from what you both post about food!) thinks that by fasting for 2 days a week they can eat crap the rest of the time they are totally delusional, and that’s what most people think this 5:2 diet is like. Rant over! 😀 I’ll be interested to read your results if you try it.

    1. Yeah gorging yourself every other day is a bit fail and pointless. I mean it is essentially just counting calories and being a bit more strict on the “fasting” days. What I think might be interesting is whether psychologically it is a bit easier because you have your non-fasting days to look forward to whereas if you are on the same calorie limit everyday it’s just hard all the time.

      You know me, I like a challenge so I think I’ll give it a go 🙂

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

