Week Two

Another week down on the 4:3 diet. At this point I’d just like to mention that I had cheesecake for dinner last night. I may also need to confess that I had cheesecake for lunch today. On the surface that seems like some very loose dieting on my part, but in my defense I did spend about 7 hours doing sweat-inducing gardening during which I stabbed myself various times with roses, grevillea and razor-sharp palm fronds so I figure I deserved it. And may I also add, damn that was some mighty fine cheesecake!

I’ve decided not to weigh myself during the dieting experiment. Being the anal person I am, I usually get totally obsessed with the numbers on the scale and I get uberly depressed when things aren’t going my way. I figure that by not weighing myself I can’t disappoint myself so win-win.

The fasting isn’t bothering me so much. The only thing I notice is that I do have a moment of sad when I wake up and remember that today is a fast day so there’s no yummy dinner to look forward to. I am starting to get sick of the simple soups I’ve been having which usually revolve around miso, carrots & onions so I might need to break open a can of lentils and make some curry or something. I’ve been sticking with soup mainly because it is filling and warms me up on the chilly nights.

I fast on the days I go to gym so sometimes I do find myself in the middle of a gym class thinking that I’m running out of fuel, but I ultimately find it easier to fast on those days because (a) I get home later and (b) Exercise stops me feeling hungry.

There’s a guy at work who is also doing the 5:2 and he has his fast days back-to-back on Monday and Tuesday. That to me sounds like some hardcore fasting and I won’t be doing anything like that anytime soon.

On a positive note for the week, I got a pay rise and a nice little bonus! Yay for me. It’s only taken 2 1/2 years but I think I’m now actually earning close to what I wanted to be paid in the first place! Lol. I think I’m also finally making what I used to earn back in Japan when I was translating. It only took 7 years and 5 jobs, but I’m back to where I started. Life is funny, isn’t it?

whats-going-on-in-japan

2 thoughts on “Week Two

Add yours

  1. I wonder if there are sufficiently greater benefits to back to back fast days that warrant the torture? I think this would be way easier to do in summer than winter…

    Congrats on the pay rise 🙂

    1. I’d think that you wouldn’t be doing yourself any favours by going hardcore, but maybe he finds it easier just to get the fasting all over and done with early in the week. I’ll have to do some googling and see if there is anything to it.
      Psychologically it is easier to diet in summer, but physiologically it’s easier for your body in winter because your body is already in a “burning fuel” mode to keep itself warm due to the lower temperatures.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

