Week Three

Well, after going foo foo at those ‘hardcore’ folks who fast back-to-back on two consecutive days and saying I would never do it, I managed to become a member of that exclusive club this week. It was all in the name of birthday cheesecake on Friday in the office, so instead of fasting Mon, Wed, Fri as I usually do, I fasted Mon, Wed, Thur and scoffed cheesecake at 3pm on Friday (then went to gym so I felt better about it.)

I have to say it was manageable. On Thursday night I had some fairly significant tummy rumbles, but nothing that a few cups of tea couldn’t fix.

There was an article in the newspaper about fasting this week and I learned that ‘hardcore’ folks are actually following the Two-Day plan (consecutive fast days), while the ‘normal’ folk are doing the 5:2 (non-consecutive fast days). So that cleared that up for me.

After three weeks I’m happy to report that I have lost some weight! Yippee. I haven’t actually weighed myself but my work clothes are definitely looser. I feel quite good generally and other than those moments of sad I mentioned when remembering that there is no yummy food to look forward to on a fast day, it’s all good so far.

All the literature about the 5:2 mentions that most people eat less on the non-fasting days as well and don’t gorge themselves as might be expected. I’m finding that too. Overall, I’m eating less and eating better (except for the occasional piece of cheesecake 🙂 ) This is one of the reasons I like to follow a diet. It’s makes me mindful of what I’m eating and helps me stay in control. I need boundaries and rules in most things that I do, including eating, so it’s working well. Bring on week four!

I also wanted to write a post about the weird feeling I had the week before last, but never found the time. We had two people away at work so my week was full-on. By 4pm on Friday I couldn’t think straight – although that may have been from the cheesecake-induced sugar high 🙂 Anyway, what I wanted to write about was that I had three days where I felt absolute contentment. It was the uncanniest thing. I’ve never experienced it before in my life. I’d imagine that is how people feel when they’ve found god or possibly the perfect baked cheesecake. It wasn’t rainbows and unicorns but I just felt…good. I felt that way for a full three days and I can’t quite describe it…It was like my hierarchy of needs was being perfectly met and nothing was bringing me down.Usually I’m worrying about something – work, money, being a sucky slave, M’s health – the list goes on but I had a little bubble of golden joy around me for those three days and I really don’t know why. All I do know is that I’d like to have that bubble back. That was some damn fine euphoria I felt then.

Hierarchy

4 thoughts on “Week Three

Add yours

    1. M is okay – thanks for asking 🙂

      He spends a fair amount of time on his food blog and taking care of things at home. I think he’s still considering permanently retiring later on in the year.

  1. that’s really interesting – sounds like you found some kind of optimal balance point. Time to make notes if/when you notice it again! Glad the diet is working for you 🙂 Thanks for the update – I so enjoy coming here for a read

    1. It was weird and fleeting. At first I was thinking to myself, “Something is different…” and it only dawned on me later that it was peace/contentment that I was feeling. It’s such a damn rare experience that I didn’t recognise it!
      Thinking about it in terms of my pyramid of needs, I could pretty much tick off everything in each tier at that particular time so I think that was the key.
      This week, work is sucky again and I want to stab myself in the eye so I don’t think I’ll be having another bubble of joy for a while… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

