What is it with that?

I started the fasting/4:3 diet midway through last year and seven months later I still spend 3 days out of every week eating no more than 500 calories. I also go to the gym 6 or 7 days a week and as you might have guessed, the fasting and the gymming has meant that I’ve lost some weight.

And when I say ‘some’ weight I mean about 20kgs or about 40lbs-ish (which, incidentally, is the amount I always lose when I go on one of those diet thingies and is probably my body’s way of finding its happy place).

Even though I’m far from skeletal and I’ve got still got plenty of bits that jiggle, there’s a rumour going around my office that I’m anorexic.

Yeah.

Apparently several people had ‘concerns’ and there was much talking going on about whether I was ‘okay’.

I’ve also had the reception chick tell me I look ‘terrible’ on several occasions.

To which I’d like to say: thanks for the positive comment biatches.

So what I’d like to know is why people do that sort of shit? Nobody told me I was chunky and needed to lose some weight when I was heavier because everybody seems to understand the unwritten rule about not teasing the fatties, so why does it not work the other way around? Based on my experiences (this is about the third time this has happened btw…) I’d hate to be naturally skinny and have people just have a field day telling me I needed to put on weight and blah blah blah.

I’ve preached my diet to anyone who will listen (sorry about that, I have no life) so everyone in the office should know what I’m doing. There’s also some good reading material out there about intermittent fasting and the positive effects it has on your body, so that should sort of point to the fact that I’m not just ‘starving’ myself for the hell of it. And more importantly, I’m in a healthy weight range. Granted, you can see a few more of my bones than you could before, but I’m very far from being super skinny so what’s the go with all the negativity people??

I used to stress-eat and now I’ve learned to channel my stress into exercise so I think that is a very good thing. I feel good and I’m also considerably fitter than I was before. Surprisingly I’ve got me some muscle tone that almost makes me want to wear something other than tent-like t-shirts to the gym. Almost, but not quite…I’m still working up to that. There’s something about angel wings holding me back…lol.

So the lesson for today is, if you haven’t got anything positive to say, just shut the fuck up, m’kay?

/ today’s lesson

gym

2 thoughts on “What is it with that?”

  1. Amen to that! As a pretty much life-long thin person I get sick of the liberties people take with comments that they wouldn’t dream of saying to a *heavy* person. It’s all based in jealousy I bet!
    Congrats on feeling so good about yourself – we all should feel that way more often 🙂 x

    1. You poor dear…nothing worse than people commenting (critically) on things you cannot change or have no control over. It’s right up there with judgements on life choices aka “Why don’t you have kids?” (I get this one a lot…)
      Physically I feel pretty good. Mentally? Not so much. Got some shit to sort out…
      P.S It’s hot.
      😄

Leave a Reply

