Yarr me maties!

December is usually the month that makes me want to slit my wrists with a butter knife and this year was no exception. It’s the end of the year, I’m tired, I’ve got to get the Christmas thing sorted and work is filled with clients visiting from Japan meaning I have to chat and be sociable with people I don’t know very well for hours on end in cars, meetings and other assorted settings.

And by the way, chit-chat in cars is just the worst and because Western Australia is a big-ass place full of nothing you spend a lot of time driving through nothing to get nowhere and see nothing. That gives you a lot of time for chit-chat. I’m usually glad when my guests fall asleep in the back of the car and I can focus on my passenger-seat job of looking at the scrub and red dirt a.k.a mamofa (miles and miles of fuck all).

I wish I could just curl up into a ball and sleep through the months of December to February and wake up and have all that stuff done and dusted.

But, on Friday I made it through my last day of work for the year and the office Christmas party (during which my first drink was a Long Island Iced Tea and things just went south from there) and I have embarked on three weeks of paid leave goodness!! Yay! So what’s the first thing I did?

I made a lego pirate ship that Master/Santa lovingly gave to me of course!

This:

ship1

Became this: (after 1 1/2 hrs of ocd-ish sorting)

ship2

And after 9hrs the 870 pieces became this:

????????????????????????????There’s even a parrot and a monkey and so many little details (down to the coins in the treasure chests and the wheels on the cannons) that make it so precious and scratch my nerdy, geeky, lego-loving itch something fierce.

Tomorrow night I’m leaving on a jetplane to go and spend two weeks with my family. I’m looking forward to some r&r and spending some quality time with my darling 91 year old grandmother.

I’m planning on doing some writing (gotta get those last six chapters finished!!) and gymming and shopping…and there will be a healthy dose of wow-playing in there to keep me occupied while I wrestle with the gorillas in the mist as well.

So if I don’t blog before then, have a lovely Christmas 🙂

ship3

8 thoughts on “Yarr me maties!

Add yours

  1. Hope you enjoy your trip. My own holidays have been tinged with sorrow. As you may recall, I placed my wife in a nursing home in Feb. I figured that she’d be there about 5-10 years. However, I turned out to be wrong. On Friday morning, Nov. 28th (the day after Thanksgiving here), I got a call from the home telling me that she had suffered a seizure and had been unresponsive for a time. They recommended that she start receiving hospice services, and I authorized that. There was some wrangling with insurance, so they weren’t able to start until Monday, Dec. 8th. The social worker called to give me her initial impressions, which were that she was fading, and I should let my daughters know so they could come and say goodbye. One lives with me, but the other is in Tennessee, and was unable to come up here on short notice. On Wed., Dec. 10, I got another call saying that if we wanted to say goodbye, now was the time. I texted my daughter at work, and she took the afternoon off so we could go up together. We sat with her for close to 45 min., but she was unconscious the whole time. We could tell that the hospice worker had good reason for urging us to come up, as her breathing was labored and unsteady. The next day, I got the call telling me she was gone. I went up and sat with her for an hour, waiting for the funeral home people to arrive. She has been cremated, and I am planning a memorial service for her on Jan. 10, to give my family and hers time to make travel arrangements.

    1. So so very sorry for your loss. It’s a small consolation that your wife didn’t suffer but still, it was so sudden and I’m sure quite a shock. *hugs*

      1. Thanks. I knew she wouldn’t live out a normal life span. Alzheimer’s really is a terminal illness. It was sooner than I expected, though, and although I’ve spent the past several years watching her decline and grieving for the amazing, wonderful woman she used to be, her actual death still hit me hard.

        I am moving on; as I’ve mentioned, I managed to acquire a girlfriend, and we are making plans to be together permanently. She will be visiting me later this week, staying for 8 days, and we’ll spend some of that time discussing our future. I intend to set aside my grief for the time being, so I can enjoy her company. I think the sharp edges have dulled enough for me to do that. After she leaves, I can resume planning Dawn’s memorial service.

        1. I’m glad there is a spot of happiness for you in all that sorrow and I’m sure that Dawn would want you to move on and enjoy your life. I hope the 8 days are all you want them to be 🙂

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

