Huffing it

It’s not very well known that I have a floor-plan fetish.  Poring over floor plans is one of the things that I love to do and it makes me quite sad that floor-plans are rarely provided in Australia for properties that are for rent or sale (unless you’re building). I’m surprised that more people don’t demand a layout when perusing properties. It makes it much easier to know whether a property is worthy of going to see than simply reading that something has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Even in Japan, a floor-plan is provided for every single room/property that is for sale or rent through an agent, even though the room sizes and layout of most properties are quite standard.

You may remember that I got quite anal about the layout of the apartment I rented for M and myself last year. It’s mostly due to the fact that I’m very sensitive to noise and I need my space. In an ideal world, I would have my own detached wing where I could create my girl-cave and not worry about getting woken up in the middle of the night or early morning by M’s nocturnal wanderings, but the best I could do was a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment with an internal hallway. I wasn’t overly impressed with the location of the apartment and the fact that the building didn’t have a pool or a gym, but when I looked at the floor-plan, I decided that I needed to go and have a look at it and when I did, the rest became history. And for your (mostly my) viewing pleasure, here is a slightly blurry look at our 100m² digs:

Floorplan

After actually living in the apartment, we both agree that the use of the internal space could have been better (the way the rooms are placed) and there is a complete waste of storage opportunities, but the high ceilings, lack of adjoining walls and floor to ceiling windows are all positive points.

I’m not a person who has ever been obsessed with home-owning. It is a national past-time in Australia: buy the biggest house you can, as soon as you can and spend the rest of your life struggling with the mortgage. I supposed property has been a good investment over the last 20 years and that’s why, but when I think about buying a house, I think about all the upkeep that needs to be done, gardens that need to be maintained and basically being locked down in a place for the foreseeable future. I know it’s not very secure to not have a place of your own to live in after retirement, but I figure that if worst comes to worst, I could always live in a cave…or a caravan.

But, if I was ever going to build a house, I would definitely build a HUF Haus, because those Germans can certainly make a house.

1020-an-exterior-view-huf

I was very familiar with pre-fabricated houses in Japan. There are several companies that pre-build sections of your house in a factory and then put them together on your land. It makes much more sense to me to do that and have a home water-tight and ready-to-move-into home in a month or two than to spend 12mths or more while the frame of your house is exposed to rain and whatever have you not while the thing gets built.

M and I watched a programme about the HUF Haus several years ago and we both decided that it was great. The house was essentially locked together on site in 4 days and then the interior fitting took another 1-2 months. It was all done with German efficiency and attention to detail and while I’m sure the house was quite pricey, I feel like it would be worth every penny.

Huf house

Some people might think that their designs look like something IKEA or LEGO put together or that they have no soul. I think if you were considering building a HUF house, you’d need a nice private block of land (because of the masses of windows) and some awesome furniture and art to decorate the interior with, but I feel like the functionality and workmanship of the house would make up for its chunky design.

Actually I feel like many of the designs feel a little bit Japanesey (particularly the ones with the white and black colour schemes), so maybe that’s why the houses appeal to me – together with the whole Huf Haus service that comes with their creations.

All I need now is the million dollars or so it would take to build the house and how ever much for the land. Somehow I don’t think there will be any house-building in my future, but in the meantime, I’ll keep drooling over floor-plans…nom,nom,nom.

hufplan

sap-hayman-plan

 

Leave a Reply

