Preshock-aftershock

Yeah…so there was another large earthquake in Japan. The one that happened on Thursday has been now downgraded to a “pre-shock” and the one that happened this morning (Saturday) at 1:30am is officially the “earthquake.” In between there have been 142 pre/after shocks of level 3 or more so I’d be pretty damn jittery if I was anywhere in the vicinity at the moment, the vicinity being Kumamoto prefecture in Kyushu.

To pre-empt some questions, no, it wasn’t really close to where I did my pilgrimage and yes, I’ve been there. You can see I’ve marked Tokushima in the map below and Kumamoto is just to the east of Nagasaki on the island south west.

Kyushu

In my work trip to Japan last August, we actually visited a place that is about 5km from the epicentre in Kumamoto. I also have lots of clients and clients of my clients in the area. I spent a lot of Friday trying to find out if everyone was ok and except for the company with an office closest to the area, everyone responded that they were ok. I couldn’t actually make contact with that office, but I have a feeling they had other things on their mind than letting their Australian supplier know they were ok. I’m also mindful of not clogging up phonelines in emergency situations like this. After the official earthquake this morning though, I’m fairly worried.

Kyushu island is actually the area in Japan where most of my clients are. I go there a lot and you might remember last year I spent my post-work trip time in Fukuoka city which is to the north and in the most populous part of the island. There are a lot of volcanos dotted around Kyushu so it’s a hot-bed of seismic activity and hot springs. Of particular concern is the active volcano Mt Aso since it is so close to the epicentre which was at Mashiki  (just to the east of Kumamoto city).

Mt asao

Apparently there has been a small eruption since the earthquake so fingers crossed nothing big happens.

These sort of disasters happening in Japan always upset me. I can watch things happen in Australia, which should affect me more, and be very chill, but for some reason I’m a lot more emotionally invested in Japan and its people.

Anyway, I uploaded Day 3 of Ohenro last night while I was still in an okay mood, but after seeing the pictures this morning of collapsed buildings and landslides, I’m not feeling very jovial to write much else.

3 thoughts on “Preshock-aftershock”

  1. I was wondering about the Japanese Earthquake.
    I’m assuming your other supplier you were unable to get onto were ok.

    Maybe you feel more sensitive to what happens in Japan as you spent your formative years there and Japan runs through your veins.

    I like following your blogs, particularly the ones about Japan.
    i pretty much live in a cave so I don’t know a lot about any places to be honest.

    I love learning about Japan. My mechanic loves it and goes over every year. He speaks Japanese, he didn’t want to be the Australian tourist who won’t learn the language.

    A couple of other people I know go also go to Japan to ski each year.

    1. Good skiing in Japan. I wish I was a bit better at balancey sports like skiing as I think it could be fun and food must be so good after an active day in those cold conditions (and seafood in Hokkaido is just divine…)
      Australia is quite a comfy cave to live in. Definitely nothing wrong with that 🙂

  2. I’m going to have to crawl out of my cave at some time.

    My OH and I are going to Paris and Rome in 2019.
    I want to be able to speak at least some basic phrases before we head over there.

    I also want to know as much as I can about both places so I know where to go or not go as the case may be.

Leave a Reply

