Bubbles

I have returned! With a new laptop and…a cold…

Actually, I’m mostly over it now, but it’s the first time I’ve been legitimately sick for quite a while. Incidentally, it also coincided with a very quick flight to Sydney and back again to see my grandmother who is in hospital, my plague and a very busy week. Shit is all over the place.

Since I last wrote, the rope workshop has been and gone, I’ve attended my friend’s 50’s-themed wedding, I’ve had a few social outings, I’ve angsted a great deal about moving to a new apartment and I’ve been caught up in various other things that have conspired to keep me in a state of non-blogging.

I’m also honestly still feeling a bit rocked over Kaya’s terrible loss of her son. It’s always very sobering when something profound like that happens and you realise that your whole life and everything that you hold dear can change in an instant. I feel nothing but sympathy and sorrow for her and Scott.

Kaya and I both started blogging around the same time. Back then there wasn’t really much around about bdsm and/or slave blogs. It was before fet, in those heady days of alt.com chatrooms and castlerealm. I’ve never Kaya in real life, but we’ve read each other’s blogs for years and you know what it’s like when you read the minutia of someone’s life for so long – they end up becoming a part of your life. I feel a bit funny (guilty?) about continuing my blog and making light of life, while she has put a stop to her blog and is dealing with pain and insurmountable grief.

But anyway, I guess we just have to be thankful for what we have and send her positive thoughts and love.

A couple of people have asked me how the rope workshop was. It was about a month ago now and usually I’d be jumping up and down like an excited puppy when there was rope talk to be done, but I found the whole experience to be very unfulfilling. Not only was the location cold and generally unpleasant, but the rope itself was ‘wrong’. I don’t know whether it was a tension issue or whether it was me, but it all hurt – and not in a good way. It wasn’t dangerous or technically ‘wrong’ but none of the suspensions (of which there were many) or floorwork really ‘did it for me’. It was the first time in my rope experiences that I’ve wanted to get down almost as soon as I was up.

I think the thing I enjoyed the most about the weekend was chatting with the Japanese sensei during the breaks. We talked a lot about innocuous things – food, Australia vs Japan, his photography/video work in Japan and shibari in general. We chatted away in Japanese, talking about everyone and everything and it was entertaining.

One of the most interesting things he said was in a response to a question from one of the attendee rope bunnies. He has a shoulder problem and found being in a chest harness with his arms behind his back for extended periods of time painful so he wanted ways of being suspended without using a TK. The sensei’s comment was that he should just ‘endure’ it because you do suspensions using a chest harness i.e. ‘that’s how it’s done’. That lead into a discussion between us about how rope is not for everyone – it’s inherently dangerous and uncomfortable. It’s not meant to be an accessible, fun thing for ages 8 to 80.

I felt  it was a telling difference between Japanese ideas and ‘western ideas’. We’re all about inclusivity and adapting things so everyone can have a go. We also often like to put our own spin on things and make them ‘better’ for our own purposes, but in Japan it’s very much that you do it how you were taught and if you can’t do it that way, you don’t do it at all. As that learned one says, “Do or do not do, there is no try”.

There’s another rope workshop in October, but I won’t be able to attend because I’ll be in China for work. I’m not sure if I’m sad or relieved that I can’t make it. I ended up buying 6 hanks of rope to add to the toy box. I’ve always wanted some proper rope, but I’m not really sure what I’m going to do with now that I have it. So that was the story of the rope workshop.

7 thoughts on “Bubbles

Add yours

  1. Gosh I have missed you!
    I totally agree about Kaya – such a tragic and senseless loss, so very very sad. I’ve been reading you almost as long as I have been reading her (in fact I think I found you through her blog roll).

    Are you apartment hunting with M, or solo?

    Welcome back xxx

    1. Awww…shucks! You missed me 🙂
      Yes, it’s very sad about B-man. I can’t imagine what she is going through…
      I finally made a decision and M and I are moving in a couple of weeks. We’re moving into the penthouse! (not really, but it’s the top floor…lol)

  2. I hope your Grandma is going to be ok. Huuuugs

    I’m so sorry about Kaya’s son, how did he pass, if it’s not too nosy? 😦
    I can’t read her blog as it has too many triggers for me.

    Bugger about the rope thing not doing it for you.
    It was good you were able to have a chat to the sensei. 🙂

    China sound good; have you been there for work before?

    1. Thanks 🙂 My Nanna got out of hospital today so things are looking good!
      Kaya’s son was murdered. If you’re on fet, you can see her post about what happened without having to go to her blog (if it’s an issue for you.)
      No, I’ve never been to China before – for work or otherwise. It will be nice to go to a new place and see some new sites.

  3. OMG that’s terrible news. I sure didn’t expect to read he had been murdered, that’s horrific. 😦
    I don’t know her name on Fet, I tried Kaya but nothing comes up. Does she go by a different name on there?

    The poor bugger…. 😥

    I’m glad your Nanna is out of hospital, that’s great news. 😀

    I was thinking of you earlier as there was a story about a sinkhole in China that opened up in a Mall. I hope you don’t come across any sinkholes on your travels.

    Are you getting to have some R&R whilst you are there so you can go exploring?

    Good luck with the move, I hope it goes smoothly for you.

    1. Kaya is still on fetlife just as kaya or you can look her up through Scott615.
      Unfortunately I won’t have any time for R&R on this trip, but I’m going home for a month in December over xmas so that will be my R&R! I would really like to see the terracotta warriors though…pity we won’t really be in that area. I think China will be pretty eye-opening for me, especially because we’ll be going rural – eeep!

  4. Thanks for that info. 🙂
    I got someone else to check her blog for me. I was given the link to her new blog.
    I was stunned when I read what had happened. Just so f***king awful. 😦
    Poor buggers. 😦
    Life is just so incredibly unfair and it always seems to happen to the nicest people. 😥

    Shame you aren’t getting any free time in China.
    I think they had some Terracotta Warriors at Expo 88. I’d have to try and find (haha) my photos from back then to be sure.

    YAYYY you are getting to go home for a month, that will be great for you. 😀

Leave a comment

Up ↑