CWI vs BWH

For those of you that don’t know, I spend an unhealthy amount of time gaming. Not that gaming is a bad thing, it’s just that I could probably be doing something more constructive with my time – you know, like blogging…

I’ve played World of Warcraft on and off for about 16 years. I haven’t really played much in the last ten because, you know, I’ve had a real job and all, but for those first few years I was definitely addicted, to the level of spending every spare waking moment levelling the crap out of my character.

About 7 years ago I started playing Xbox. M has been super into gaming for the last ten years and I thought that by joining him on Xbox it might give us something to do together. We normally play all the big releases together and we spend a steady amount of time on Destiny.

Being a girl in a mostly boy environment, I get the usual amount of creepy messages and whatnot while I’m gaming, but what I find the most interesting is listening to what boys in groups chat about.

And that is, of course, women.

I work with mostly women in a wide variety of ages – from their 20’s to their 50’s. When we’re together we talk about tv shows, dogs, how fucked work is and how stupid men are. We don’t talk about tits, getting dicks in our holes or how many men we’ve been out with.

I’m not sure whether it’s just a gaming thing – that guys on headsets need to exclusively talk about how much they’re getting and how old the girls are that they’re getting it with – because I don’t have a lot of male friends in the real world, but it just seems like those are the only topics of conversation.

There is one guy in the group we game with who is coming out of a long-term relationship and is out on the dating scene. He normally fills us in on the girls he is hitting up on tinder and there are normally only three questions that get asked: 1. How old is she? 2. How big are her tits? 3. Is she attractive?

And interestingly enough, it’s that first question that everyone focusses on. Apparently any woman over 38 is “too old”. So any guy in his mid to late forties and up seems to be saying that women look “really old” after 38.

Now as a woman over 38 who is already acutely aware of how society doesn’t accept women aging and expects us to somehow magically stop the clock, it’s honestly a bit disheartening to hear that I’m not even considered fuckable anymore.

I understand that people on tinder are after a shag and that primarily you are going to focus on what a person looks like but, you know, I’d probably want to know something else about them too.

It’s interesting that women always get distilled down to their looks. It doesn’t matter how well we are adulting, how much we have our shit together or how successful our career is, there is always one last fuckable day and that’s apparently when you’re 37 and 364 days old.

Yes, women do judge other women’s looks. We envy the bitches with porcelain skin and no cellulite, but we don’t write anyone off because they weren’t ‘pretty enough’.

I know the standard 3 things to judge a man on are 1. His car, 2. His watch & 3. His income. Funny, isn’t it, that those 3 things can change with effort. Meanwhile, women are either born attractive or not and even if they do well on the attractiveness scale, they’re only good until the age of 38.

It feels very cruel and unfair.

So anyway, that’s the end of my rant.

I’ll just keep lathering on the anti-aging goop and ponder my unfuckable future.

Leave a comment

Up ↑